RESEARCH!!!! Article by Lindlof, T. & Taylor, B.

When begin to read Lindlof and Taylor’s article – Design I- Planning- Beginnings: Searching for a Research Idea – I thought it would be dull and uninteresting, i mean what can be interesting about research ideas and explanations? However, once i started reading the article, I cannot stress enough the uniqueness and importance of what I learnt. In order to give you some idea of how surprised i was about the article, i must first give you some background about myself.

Currently I am a 4th year Advanced Science Student, with only 2 subjects left to complete my bachelor degree. Being a science student, research is something we do on a daily basis. As such it becomes second nature to us. Although many times our academic teachers have told us “to think about and conduct an experience”, I don’t believe I have ever been explained the difference in types of research at such a sophisticated yet easy-to-understand level.

Lindlof and Taylor’s article basically outlines how we should conduct the research behind a research proposal and the different types of research methods one can use to either come up with or prove a hypothesis.

Lindlof and Taylor go on to explain in their article the difference between Qualitative and Quantitative research. They state “Qualitative methods intend to contribute to a theoretical understanding of communication. Whereas hypothesis-testing research derives its focus from a theory, or a competition between theories, qualitative research can be more flexible in its use of theory”. From the many explanations I have seen of Qualitative vs. Quantitative research, this is by far the best.

It helps us understand that our research proposal is going to be based on a qualitative method, as we do not have a hypothesis to base any findings on. Again, being a scientist, most of the experiments I conducted were based on a Quantitative method of research. Therefore, when Lindlof and Taylor’s list what a research proposal is supposed to include (i.e. “a research proposal is supposed to be rationale”; “aims to persuade”, etc.), this really helped my mind focus on the writing of a Qualitative research proposal rather than a Quantitative research report.

Overall, the article was very helpful to me when I was writing my research proposal. It allowed me to separate the writings of a Quantitative research report and a Qualitative research proposal. Something I would have no doubt gotten confused with if the level of this article hadn’t been so in-depth yet easy to read.

Hope it makes sense,

Natasha Boustani xx

p.s. sorry this is a week late guys… i”ll be posting week 6 blog later tonight :)…. please note i have a doctor’s certificate Penny 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

